Get Started
Call us today on 615-651-8499

Ditto Blog

2014 Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards


This years AIR awards were held at a new venue, Melbourne Meat Market. Hosted by the endlessly entertaining Dylan Lewis under the spotlight of the Carlton Dry Chandelier. 14 awards were given, with Remi taking home the Carlton Dry Global Music Grant of $50,000. As well as winning Best Independent Hip Hop Album, for his debut album, ‘Raw x Infinity’.


Global Music grant winners REMI


With the blue carpet walking you into The Melbourne Meat Market, the atmosphere and great vibes hits you instantly. The mix of Australian Independent Music, all together in one room made for a great night. Love was in the air with each person on stage stealing hugs from Dylan.


Meg Mac kicked off the night carrying out an astral version of her track "Every Lie". An explosive opening performance that left an impression on the room, and shaping the vibe for the night. Lewis set up the crown with a drinking game (in Australian spirit), signalling throughout the night for those drinking, to have a drink each time the word independent is said.


Dylan Lewis giving cheers the the Carlton Dry Chandelier


Congratulations to former Ditto artist Courtney Barnett. Who after a recent series of sold out shows at the Corner Hotel, takes out ‘Best Independent Album’ and ‘Best Independent Single/EP' for 'Avant Gardener'.


2012 AIR award winner and rock queen Adalita, was invited to share what being independent means to her. Her speech was modest, honest and upheld all that represents being an independent artist. She shared the fond memory of her very first gig as a clown, as well as honouring the late Dean Turner, lifelong friend and Magic Dirt Bandmate.


The night was full of many great speeches and annecdotes. Most memorably for some Violent Soho’s after their first win for, 'Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album'. As most know by now, they almost didn’t make it on the plane for the ceremony. Guitarist James Tidswell recalling that the shirt he was wearing was labelled as “Threatening” to airline personell. So how did they get there I hear you asking? Simple, he turned his shirt inside out! Genius!


Remi won ‘Best Independent Hip Hop Album’ for his debut album ‘Raw x Infinity’. Admitting at first he didn’t have anything arranged to say, as he was unprepared to take home Best Indpependent Hip Hop Album. He made good second time round with him and the boys giving a special shout out to their girlfriends.


Sheppard’s performance was cursed with a technical glitch with mics not working at first, that didn’t stop them though. They didn’t miss a beat and showed good humour by checking the mic was on, when they came up to accept the award for ‘Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year’. Their hit ‘Geronimo’ holds the longest stay at #1 on the charts for any Australian independent release.


The crowd were wooed with singer/producer Ben Woolner’s enchanting falsetto during Safia’s performance. Violent Soho Label brothers DMA’s perform ‘Delete’. Remi topped of the night, raising the roof with ‘Tyson’ as N’fa hellicoptered his sweatshirt above them. A great night for I OH YOU as they also won ‘Best Independent Label’.


Congratulations to all the nominees and award winners! 

2014 AIR Independent Music Awards

Best Independent Artist - Courtney Barnett

Best Independent Album - Violent Soho – Hungry Ghost

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year - Sheppard

Best Independent Single/EP - Courtney Barnett – ‘Avant Gardener’

Best Independent Label - I OH YOU

Best Independent Hip Hop Album - Remi – Raw x Infinity

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album - Dan Sultan – Blackbird

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album - Violent Soho – Hungry Ghost

Best Independent Dance/Electronica or Club Single - Peking Duk – ‘High’

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album RÜFÜS – Atlas

Best Independent Classical Album - Gurrumul / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – His Life And Music

Best Independent Country Album - Halfway – Any Old Love

Best Independent Jazz Album - Paul Grabowsky Sextet – The Bitter Suite


(Written by Vader Fame)